Skip To Main Content

Mobile CTA

header navs


School choice applications available online; deadline to apply is March 31

Wednesday, March 1, 2022

BEAUFORT – The Beaufort County School District is now accepting school choice applications for the 2023-24 academic year, the ninth year of the district’s expanded choice initiative. 

School choice applications are open on the district’s website and must be submitted online by Friday, March, 31. Parents who don’t have internet access may request application assistance at any district school.

Curriculum options approved by the Board of Education include such instructional choices as Montessori, advanced math and science (AMES), International Baccalaureate, arts integration, language immersion, Cambridge Academy, Early College, and leadership programs.  New options for this year are Medical Magnet, Technology Magnet, and Arts Integration Magnet at our MedTech7 schools, as well as Project Based Learning at Coosa Elementary, and Leader in Me at Lady’s Island Elementary.  To learn about all of the district’s school choice offerings please see the BCSD School Choice webpage where a complete School Choice Booklet can be viewed.

“We are proud to include the MedTech7 Magnet School Assistance Program as a new choice program that we are offering Beaufort County families,” said Superintendent Frank Rodriguez. “MedTech7 is an excellent example of our commitment to empowering our students to create their own educational pathways.”

Choice schools serve children who live in their attendance zones in addition to students from outside the zone who apply to attend. Beaufort County students who attend choice programs do not pay extra tuition, although families are responsible for their students’ transportation if they live outside of school attendance zones.

If the number of choice applications at a school would cause the school to exceed its overall enrollment capacity, or if approved applications would push an individual choice program beyond its capacity, there will be a lottery.

There are six schools that are at or above capacity and do not have availability for students outside the attendance zone to apply for school choice: Bluffton High School, Hilton Head High School, May River High School, HE McCracken Middle School, Okatie Elementary School, and Pritchardville Elementary School.

All district schools maintain a Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics focus, as well as a core curriculum that includes the arts, world languages, and technology.

For more information about any of the school choice programs listed in the 2023-24 School Choice Booklet, please visit our School Choice webpage. Please contact the school associated with each program(s) directly for more information.