Matthew Porter will attend the University of Alabama this fall

May River High's valedictorian wins National Merit Scholarship
Posted on 06/19/2018
Matthew Porter, National Merit Scholar

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

May River High School student earns
2018 National Merit Scholarship

BEAUFORT – A May River High School student has been announced as the winner of a prestigious National Merit Scholarship.

Matthew Porter is among only 2,500 high school seniors nationwide who will receive a National Merit Scholarship for study at sponsoring colleges or universities.  Porter will attend the University of Alabama and is considering a career in computer programming.

“Matthew is a wonderful representative not only for May River High, but for our entire school district,” said Superintendent Jeff Moss.  “He’s got a bright future ahead of him.”

Porter is the second Beaufort County School District student announced as a 2018 National Merit Scholarship winner.  Beaufort High senior Chris Hoogenboom’s selection was announced last month.

About 1.6 million juniors in 22,000 high schools entered the National Merit Scholarship competition when they took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screening of program entrants.  About 15,000 students were named as finalists, representing less than 1 percent of the nation’s seniors.

National Merit Scholars are selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who appraise a substantial amount of information submitted by the finalists and their high schools: their academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. is a nonprofit that operates without government assistance and was founded in 1955 specifically to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 420 independent corporate and college sponsors.