New Board members, officers

Board gets new members, officers
Posted on 01/03/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Board gets new members, officers

Tuesday, January 3, 2017


Board of Education takes on two new

members, elects new slate of officers


BEAUFORT – The Beaufort County Board of Education took on two new members tonight and also elected a new slate of officers.


Career educator Patricia Felton-Montgomery will represent District 6 (Okatie and Sun City), and physician Christina Gwozdz will represent District 9 (Bluffton).  Their terms will run through 2020.


The Board also elected its officers for 2017: Patricia Felton-Montgomery as chair, Earl Campbell as vice chair and Geri Kinton as secretary.


Felton-Montgomery is a former superintendent of the Lawnside School District in New Jersey, and she also has served as Director of Educational Leadership for the U.S. Department of Education’s Mid-Atlantic Regional Educational Laboratory.  Felton-Montgomery is a board member of the Mitchelville Preservation Project and a member of the League of Women Voters of Hilton Head Island/Bluffton.  Her education includes a bachelor’s degree from Douglass College at Rutgers University, a master’s degree in elementary education from Syracuse University and a doctorate in educational administration from Teachers College Columbia University.  She is corresponding secretary of the Hilton Head Island/Bluffton Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.


Gwozdz is a Board-certified otolaryngologist, owner-manager of Palmetto Ear, Nose and Throat, P.A., on Hilton Head Island and co-founder and co-owner of the Outpatient Surgery Center on Hilton Head Island.  In addition, she is the current president of the South Carolina Society of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery and a member of the South Carolina Medical Association House of Delegates.  Her education includes a bachelor’s degree from Bowdoin College and an M.D. from Cornell University.  Her sons attended Bluffton-area schools, and her volunteer activities have included school-related events, the Boy Scouts and the Hilton Head Youth Orchestra.

Photo caption:  Front row, from left, Vice Chair Earl Campbell, Chair Patricia Felton-Montgomery and Secretary Geri Kinton.  Second row, from left, JoAnn Orischak, Bill Payne, David Striebinger, Joseph Dunkle, Mary Cordray, Evva Anderson and Christina Gwozdz.