Board members surprise district's teachers, support staff of the year

Top teachers, support staff honored
Posted on 04/26/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Top teachers, support staff honored

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Board members make surprise visits to notify
district’s teachers, support staff of the year

BEAUFORT – Some very special Beaufort County School District teachers and support staff were treated with gift baskets today as Board of Education members made surprise visits to their schools to announce the 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year.

School Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum.  Next fall, the teachers honored today will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors.

Support staff also are selected by school staff and can include social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, teacher assistants, school secretaries and technology and data specialists.

“We’re so proud of our outstanding teachers and support staff because they make a difference in children’s lives each and every day,” said Board Chair Patricia Felton-Montgomery, who joined her fellow Board members in today’s surprise notifications.  “The fact that our honorees were chosen by their peers makes these recognitions particularly meaningful.”

The 2017-2018 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year announced today are:


Teacher of the Year

Support Staff of the Year

Battery Creek High

Sarah Hayes

Christine Whiteleather

Beaufort Elementary

Meredith Rhoden

Cathy Power

Beaufort High

Nancy Ungvarsky

Julie Gadley

Beaufort Middle

Dayna Dehlinger

Sheral Spencer

Beaufort-Jasper ACE

Jerry Ferguson


Bluffton Elementary, ECC

Alison Hall

Diloris Contreras

Bluffton High

Todd Stewart

Alexa Mencias

Bluffton Middle

Clint Austin

Catherine Woloszyk

Broad River Elementary

Phelecia Simmons

Denise Drake

Coosa Elementary

Lauren Plair

Sandra Gardener

H. E. McCracken Middle

Everett Eason

Michael Viskovich

Hilton Head ECC

Ashley Berryhill

Anne Jacoby

Hilton Head Elementary (IB)

Katherine “Kit” Seelbach

Jennifer French

Hilton Head Island Creative Arts, Daufuskie Island

Jennifer Friend Kerr

Margaret Borasky

Hilton Head Island High

Duncan Aspinwall-Winter

Katie O’Sullivan

Hilton Head Island Middle

Cathy Shaw

Barbara Perry

Joseph Shanklin Elementary

Daniel McKeown

Daryl Harris

Islands Academy

Patricia Hillis

Andrea Murray

Lady’s Island Elementary

Cheryl Horton

Jana Sanders

Lady’s Island Middle

Andrew Diamond

Kathleen Bingham

May River High

M.C. Riley Elementary, ECC

Samantha Durrett

Donna Hudson

Linda Dietz

Alia Delong

Mossy Oaks Elementary

Crystal Maroney

Webster Ogle

Okatie Elementary

Leigh Underhill

Lynn Nagel

Pritchardville Elementary

Jennifer McKitrick

Alicia Baruffi

Port Royal Elementary

Melinda Joiner

Elizabeth Bornscheuer

Red Cedar Elementary

Alicia VanZanten

Helena Williams

River Ridge Academy

Amie Lankowski

Deborah Wilkerson

Robert Smalls Intl. Academy

Leanna O’Quinn

Toni Burnsed

St. Helena Elementary, EL

Merriam Browne

Denise Simmons

Whale Branch E.C. High

Elizabeth Thomas

Virginia Henneberry

Whale Branch El., Davis ECC

Nicole Townsend

Cheryl Morris

Whale Branch Middle

Denise Huntsman

Marion Smalls

Adult Education

District Office


Dorothy Gregory

Charlotte Waskiewicz