Skip To Main Content

Mobile CTA

header navs


Foundation for Educational Excellence

The Foundation for Educational Excellence was established by the Beaufort County School District in 2007 to fund Innovative Teacher Grants that support student enrichment activities and projects that exceed regular school budgets.

What kind of projects do Foundation Grants fund?
Our Foundation projects range from learning science through butterfly gardens to getting students excited about technology through robotics, exercising students' mind and body on pickleball courts to encouraging creativity on pottery wheels. What all grants have in common is that they are “out of the traditional teaching curriculum” to spark inquisitive minds in new ways.

When and how are Foundation grants awarded? 
The Foundation for Educational Excellence awards Innovative Teacher grants (up to $750 per classroom) and School Resource grants (up to $4,000 for school wide potential use) once a year in the fall.  Other special grants given throughout the year include: Student Enrichment grants, Above & Beyond Teacher of the Year Recognition grants and Induction Teacher Grants (NEW in early Fall 2022). Contact for specific deadlines.

How are monies raised to fund these grants?  
The Foundation receives support from benefactors that include The Bargain Box of Hilton HeadItalian American Club of Hilton Head, Friends of Callawassie Island, Moss Creek Charitable Fund, Women In Philanthropy, and individual donors.

Innovative Teacher and School Resource Grants are awarded once a year in the fall. For specific deadlines, email: Submissions are scored and awarded by committee. Visit our grant application and instructions webpage for more information and download the Foundation's flyer.

Community Partner

The Foundation for Educational Excellence is a fund under the Community Foundation of the Lowcountry. Donations can be made directly to Community Foundation of the Lowcountry, or online (select: Give> Fund> Beaufort County School District Foundation for Educational Excellence Fund). Donations are tax deductible as allowable by law.

To donate by check, make it payable to The Foundation for Educational Excellence and mail it to:

Foundation for Educational Excellence 
P.O. Box 22474. Hilton Head Island, SC 29925

Email: | Phone: 843-301-7150   

Thank you for your support!

2022-23 Foundation for Educational Excellence Board of Directors

Lisa Carroll, Chair
Karen Beltz, Vice Chair 
John Mosca, Treasurer
Cindy Sturgis, Secretary 
Deborah Colella, EdD, Past Chair
Michel Claudio
Chris Epps 
Carole T. Ingram
Linda Navorska
Carol McHugh
Jackie Rosswurm, PhD
Laura Phillips 
Danielle Troutman
Carol Ruff
Cristin Casper, Beaufort County School District Liaison