Three BCSD students among the honored

2017 National Merit Semifinalists Announced
Posted on 09/13/2017
Cap and books

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Three Beaufort County students honored
as National Merit Semifinalists for 2017

BEAUFORT – Three Beaufort County School District students were announced today as semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Named as semifinalists were Chris Hoogenboom (Beaufort High), Matthew Porter (May River High) and Yi Zhou (Bluffton High).  They will compete with other national semifinalists for 7,500 college scholarships worth about $32 million. 

“These are obviously three outstanding students,” said Superintendent Jeff Moss.  “They’ve brought recognition not just to their schools but to the entire district, and each of them is a strong candidate to be successful in the next stages of the national competition.”

About 1.6 million high school juniors from more than 22,000 American high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.  About 16,000 semifinalists were announced today.

To become a finalist in the next stage of the national competition, each semifinalist and their high school now must submit a detailed application that provides information about the student’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, honors and awards.  In addition, each semifinalist must be endorsed and recommended by an official from their high school, write an essay and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier score on the qualifying test.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. is a nonprofit established in 1955, and its scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and more than 400 businesses and higher education institutions.